Girl Crush

I have a total girl crush… and this is why…Pumpkin Cheesecake Cupcakes. Anyone who knows me knows that I am not a fan of Pumpkin or Cheesecake. But I would scarf those down until I couldn’t fit thru the door!!! I can’t wait to make those tonight. Looks like my chocolate chip cranberry cookies will wait till tomorrow… maybe.

I have to say, I have an amazing man. I get claustrophobia. Not the kind where you feel scared in an elevator. The kind where I need to travel. Growing up I didn’t always have much money, but my Mom would throw me in the car, bleary eyed, at 4 am or earlier and off we would go. We went to Newport, Williamsburg, Florida, Kittyhawk, Niagra Falls, Mystic, Maine, so many amazing places. And I saw more because we drove. When I got into High School my Mom inherited some money and she used it to show me the world, Scotland, London, Paris, St. Maarten, Cruises, Tahiti. I have been so many places and I am so grateful. I think that traveling is just as educational as sitting in a classroom. But to this day a 8-10 hour drive is nothing to me. I am lucky because it is nothing to Goalie either. The downside to this is the claustrophobia. If I am home for too long, I get cranky, restless. I need to get out. It doesn’t have to be far, I just need to go. Goalie is always more than willing to oblige.

Goalie also has a streak of luck in him. He worked hard and won a trip from his old job to Costa Rica, where he proposed to me. Probably the most romantic night of my life. We had just landed and gotten to the resort with his other co-workers. It was a long trip. We had left at 2am, it was not close to 9pm Eastern time. But the sun was about to set on the beach, so he insisted we go walk, I couldn’t wait to see it. We walked along the beach until there wasn’t a soul near us…. just us, the sun setting and the ocean. That was where he proposed. It was magical, perfect and everything a girl could want or dream of. It was more. We returned to his co-workers there with open arms and cheers. They had all known and were waiting for us. Then last year he won a trip to Barbados on twitter from Hockey Legend Kevin Weekes. We will never be able to thank Mr. Weekes enough for that trip of a lifetime. We fell in love with that island.

We have not been away in about 6 months.. which for us, is AMAZING! So I am getting claustrophobic. I am cranky. We have been busy. Between work and family and back to school.. life is a whirlwind. I love that about life. But it is time for me to run away. And Goalie recognized that. So he is planning something. I can’t wait!! I think we are going somewhere close. But you have to love a man, who understands your manic-ness and rather than raging against it (a-la my ex-husband) gives in, joins your manic-ness and takes you on a run away weekend somewhere. So gas up the car baby… here we go!

 

One thought on “Girl Crush

  1. So pumpkin cheesecake cupcakes are DELICIOUS. I made some for the first time from a Racheal Ray recipe a few years ago and they were one of the tastiest things I’ve ever had. And that’s so cool that Goalie is planning a trip for the two of you! Can’t wait to hear where you end up going!!

Tell me what is on your mind!

