Finding the Happy in a Rough Time.

I am sorry I have not posted in FOREVER. Sometimes, life gets away from us. Recently I had some difficult decisions to help make that involved the health and care of a very close family member to me. Decisions that HAD to be made but that no one ever wants to make. That was so all consuming. Not only of my time, but of my energy and emotions. Many years ago, I learned that these things come up, and the best thing I could do was work thru them and “find my happy” along the way. So here are the HAPPY things that occurred in the storm of the past few weeks.

Punk and Bear started school!!! Wow 2nd and 4th grade!! How did that happen?

 

Happy #2- I became an AllRecipes All Star! I get to try out new recipes and review new products that are provided to me! I am so awesome I even get to use a disclaimer… So.. here is my first review for you all!! Disclaimer included!

Disclaimer- I am an Allrecipes Allstar Brand Ambassador (a voluntary position) and I’m not compensated for my work with Allrecipes.com. Products received from advertiser are only used for experienced-based reviews on Legalized Frostitution. The reviews, content and opinions expressed in this blog are purely the sole opinions of Cathy. This blog was written in support of Al Fresco and their Chicken Sausages.

I made stuffed mushrooms the other night. I had never really worked with cleaning out big mushrooms before. All I had ever done was chop up little white mushrooms. So I went with the recipe Stuffed Portabellas on Allrecipes.com. I checked the fabulous Youtube to find out how to clean those slimy suckers. Not the easiest thing ever, but not difficult. I was happy to find out that all you needed was a spoon. I was grossed out to find that the underside of a portabella, those funny line things, those are called GILLS… Gross! I wish I had taken photos of the process, but I didn’t. I was distracted with the emotional stuff. But it was WICKED easy and not hard to clean up. And they were super tasty. I loved the sausages from Al Fresco. There was not an over powering taste from the seasoning inside the sausage. One thing I generally hate about sausages of any sort is that they can have a strong taste of Fennel. I did not get this from the Al Fresco sausages. So, that being said here is a final photo of dinner… fresh out of the oven. It was SUPER good. Even Goalie who is not a fan of the texture of mushrooms loved it. The only suggestion he had (and I agreed) was to dry them better before starting the recipe.  Photo time!

Happy #3. This one has been my saving grace, the bright light (other than Punk and Bear). I’m getting married!!!! Goalie proposed a while ago while we were in Costa Rica. It was amazing. Now after 2 years, I am actively planning the wedding. I am making calls and getting going! Even just 10 min of this can make me smile. I know, odd. It was a goal of ours to truly enjoy our engagement and planning process. I am looking forward to some of the DIY. Maybe I’ll even share some of it with you!!

Ok.. I showed you my happy… What is yours?

5 thoughts on “Finding the Happy in a Rough Time.

  1. I admire you for being able to find the happy in such a rough time! Your kids are so beautiful (and well dressed!!) Those mushrooms look delicious too! The wedding planning is a big part of my happy right now too–I’m getting married in May and we’re doing a lot of DIY, so it’s fun to be so involved in the process of creating something that’s meaningful to us and to the community surrounding us.

  2. Hi Cathy! I’m another newbie Allrecipe Allstar Ambassador with you. I’ve been a long time blogger myself and a long time user of allrecipes.com. I made these mushrooms too but used the smaller ones and a spicer sausage. Loved them here too!

  3. Hi Cathy. I’m happy to hear about your mushroom success. I’m excited about the Al Fresco too, I never even knew there was chicken sausage, let alone purchased and cooked with it before, and now I’ve even created my own recipe. Being a new Allstar is so much fun! Congrats on your upcoming wedding, hope you do enjoy all the DIY. And big (((HUGS))) to help with the emotions you’ve been dealing with.

    Cheryl – mommasangelbaby

  4. The decision you had to make is one that, unfortunately, most of us have to face–either with loved ones or for ourselves depending on our ages. Bless you for getting through that. Congrats on being an Allstar! You’ll find joy in that. Also those two little ones who are in 2nd and 4th grades are gems! Have a really good week!

  5. Hi Cathy! I too am another newb with AR’s Allstars. Loved your blog (I don’t blog myself but enjoy reading others.) Congrats on your upcoming wedding! Hubby made me last out my engagement 5 years – after that, I’d had enough “enjoying” it! Look forward to seeing you around more, bookmarking your blog to keep up with your adventures. My boys and hubby despise mushrooms but you made these look so good. Might have to test it out 😉 And can’t forget, adorable kids too! ❤

Tell me what is on your mind!

