Hot Hot Hot Fudge Sauce

Anyone who knows me, knows that I am a huge fan of ice cream. The toppings make the Sundae as they say! Or do “They”? Maybe that is just me. When I was a kid it was always a special treat to have ice cream before bed with my Mom. If it was a REALLY special night she would melt peanut butter in the microwave in the bottom of my bowl before she put the ice cream in. So, so, so good! I have always preferred warm peanut butter over hot fudge since then.

This week I decided that since Bear and Punk were with their Dad for the week and since I had been gone for a week with them on the Cape, I would do something special for Goalie. He started his new schedule and works until 9pm most nights. He also is picking up a TON of over time. I don’t suppose one can say thank you for that. I don’t have a job, I lost it a few years ago, I was laid off for being too efficient (true story) and basically worked my self right out of a job. I have the bakery but that is not steady enough to be reliable. So Goalie is our rock. I am not one who does well with this. I have stood on my own 2 feet for so long that having someone take care of me isn’t easy. I feel like I never live up to them and I can’t do enough for them. So I try. It isn’t always about gifts. Maybe some nights I let him play video games or zone out online a little longer than usual without me whining at him to change the light bulbs, maybe I have dinner on the table every night when he gets home, maybe I let him golf all day with his buddies while I stay home alone and don’t say a peep. To be honest, I don’t mind, he earns it. But that night I made him some hot chocolate sauce, I cleaned our bedroom (a feat in itself!), clean sheets, candles, the whole shebang! I even made our bed ( this only happens about 2x a year for “special occasions”).  I made a playlist on my phone (I had no idea how to do it and had to do a “quick learn” on youtube!) and I made some hot fudge sauce to put with fresh fruit. When he got home he got a full body massage, fruit and a nap!!! So here is, that amazingly impressive and totally deliciously easy Hot Fudge Sauce! What you do with it…. that is up to you. I am not responsible for any unplanned calories or children.

The one thing not listed on the board that I end up putting in EVERYTHING is vanilla. Good vanilla. Not the grocery kind. Splurge, if you can afford that scented soap by your sink, you can treat yourself to some good vanilla by Nielsen-Massey. Trust me, it will make a bigger difference than that soap!!! It tastes MUCH better!

First Melt your butter…. mmmm

Then mix in your sugar and cocoa… mix until smooth.

Add 1cup of Evaporated milk and a splash of vanilla… keep over LOW heat, if you turn up your heat it will not cook faster, it will just burn the chocolate. Keep your heat low so that it is just bubbling. It will seem to “grow” so be aware you may have to turn it down so it does not boil over. BUT you should be there stirring constantly for 5 min ANYHOW. Set a timer, do not skimp on this part. It is what makes it smooth and rich!

TADAA!!! You have HOT FUDGE SAUCE!! You can save it for a night in, or a fancy party, or a back to school/end of summer sundae bar for the kids. This recipe makes quite a lot so you should have enough for anything. Keep in mind it is HOT. I mean REALLY HOT. You can’t use it until about an hour after you have made it. You will get burned.

Soon after I made this Punk got hurt. She had trouble sleeping that night because her ankle bothered her. It was a really awesome Momma moment to be able to whip out some ice cream (store bought, that is my next project), put it into a giant bowl and add some home made hot fudge. 2 spoons, 1 blanket and some Olympic gymnastics on the TV while we watched Aly Raisman win   EARN a gold medal for her floor routine. Those are the nights that make all of the sleepless nights worth it.

So go.. make something small and quick… and make someone else feel special.

Tell me what is on your mind!

